The Texaco Road Safety Speech Competition



Founded in 2002, the Texaco Road Safety Speech Competition is the contribution of Chevron Bahamas Ltd. To “Energy for Learning”, the community outreach programme of Chevron Global, which seeks to promote education and youth development in locations across the world where the company operates.


The Texaco Road Safety Speech Competition invites the top speechmakers from competitions sponsored by high schools and recognized youth organizations from throughout The Bahamas. The Competition seeks to put a focus on road safety while creating valuable educational experiences for participants. The Competition presents an excellent forum in which young Bahamians can display their talents and community spirit. Competitors are called upon to use a variety of skills in order to prepare and deliver five-to seven-minute speeches, which require research, knowledge of language structure, coherence, good style and poise.


The top three winners will be awarded monetary prizes in the amount of $10,000, $6,000 and $3,000, respectively. These sums are to be applied to studies at the school of the winner’s choice. The student placing first will spend a year as Texaco’s Road Safety Spokesperson, with many opportunities to contribute to the main goal and gain valuable knowledge and contacts. What is most important, the event allows students to address a serious problem that is negatively impacting the lives of young people like themselves. All finalists are given a trophy, certificate of participation and very fine prizes. For all participants, the Competition provides a time of fellowship with peers from other islands and a unique opportunity to meet and talk with Bahamian leaders.


The majority of successful ventures owe their achievements to the contributions of many partners, sponsors and well-wishers and the Texaco Road Safety Speech Competition certainly falls into this category. Chevron Bahamas Ltd. acknowledges with deep gratitude their participation.

Past Winners

                                                Valtio Cooper                        2010-2011

Kennisha Adderley               2009-2010

Rashad Rolle                       2008-2009

Cordero Minnis                    2007-2008

Shireen Hanna                    2006-2007

Barry Griffin                         2005-2006

Corain Smith                       2004-2005

Chauncy Adderley              2003-2004

Shantarra Davis                  2002-2003


For more information visit